What is AcuraWatch and which models have it?

Do any models have standard AcuraWatch?

By Product Expert | Posted in Technology on Tuesday, September 26th, 2017 at 8:40 pm
What is AcuraWatch and which models have it

What is AcuraWatch and which models have it?

Most of us are guilty of being distracted behind the wheel. Whether it’s kids in the rear seat, fiddling with the radio, or even just feeling confused by GPS instructions, most of us have made a mistake one time or another simply because we aren’t paying attention. Fortunately, switching lanes without checking your blind spot doesn’t always lead to a collision, but it easily could. That’s why Acura created its AcuraWatch suite of driver assistance features. Today we’re looking at what’s included and which models have it as standard or available.

AcuraWatch driver assistance features

It should be obvious by now, but AcuraWatch is the name given to a host of driver assistance features offered by the luxury brand. These features often include Adaptive Cruise Control, Collision Mitigation Braking System, Forward Collision Warning, Lane Keeping Assist System, Blind Spot Monitoring, Rear Cross Traffic Alert and Road Departure Mitigation. What do all these features do? Essentially, they prevent collisions by warning you if items are too close to your front end (and help brake if you fail to do so), keep a safe following distance, keep you in your lane and warn you of obstacles from all angles.

More FAQs: Does Acura require premium fuel?

You want to keep you and your loved ones safe, not to mention prevent damage to your expensive vehicle. So here is where you’ll find AcuraWatch on the various models:

  • 2018 Acura RDX – AcuraWatch Plus Package
  • 2018 Acura TLX – Standard
  • 2017 Acura ILX – AcuraWatch Plus Package
  • 2018 Acura MDX – Standard
  • 2018 Acura RLX – Standard, with Traffic Jam Assist

You’ll note that more models are adding on standard AcuraWatch features, but with some caveats. For example, the 2018 Acura TLX and MDX offer many standard features, but both blind spot information and Rear Cross Traffic Monitor are optional add-ons. The only model that doesn’t currently have 2018 information is the ILX, but we’ll be sure to update here at the Radley Acura Blog just as soon as information becomes available, so stay tuned.


Leave a Reply